Ages ago I found this awesome idea on Pinterest for Where We Are From gingerbread men styled map wall art. Unfortunately they had sold out and the site was in the UK, so I thought I might be able to make something similar myself. I decided that this would be awesome gifts for all my family for Christmas. Hence I couldn't post this until after the festivities had ended!
Picture
I found an old map book that had been hanging out unloved under the car seat. It was really out of date so perfect for what I needed.

I tried to trace my gingerbread man cookie cutter but the shape wasn't quite right, so I ended up just drawing a shape I liked.

One man shaped and then one with a skirt for the girl.

I then found the map that coincided with where my family was from. 

Some maps had to be found on the net and printed out as some of the map areas were on the binding edge, and also I don't have many maps of Malta lying around!

I cut out the map so the word of the persons home town was near their heart. I also cut out some cardboard the same shape and stuck the map onto it to make it a little raised up.

Then the gingerbread shapes were stuck onto some nice textured art paper with some PVA glue.

Lastly it was just a matter of popping them into some nice box frames and I was done! Well after doing 3 or 4 more for the rest of the family!

Everyone seemed to like them and I think I actually should make one for me and Mr T as well. Will have to find another map book to cut up I think!

juliet
1/18/2013 09:15:24 am

Thanks Lisa, they are great! I loved my one : ) Ju

Reply
Lisa
1/19/2013 12:49:15 pm

Thanks Ju - hope you've found some where to put it!

Reply

What a creative idea! I'm pinning it so I can make them as gifts for next Christmas. Thanks for sharing!

Reply
Lisa
1/21/2013 12:58:19 pm

Thanks Hilda - I found it was great for couples presents but not so good for my single brothers!

Reply
1/21/2013 12:13:20 pm

So fun! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at 'Or so she says ...' Hope to see you there! www.oneshetwoshe.com

Reply
Lisa
1/21/2013 02:22:16 pm

Thanks Mariel - linking up now!

Reply

This is adorable! I'm totally pinning this!

Reply
1/21/2013 10:20:40 pm

This is adorable! I haven't seen the gingerbread cutouts. I just started a brand new link party and would love for you to link this up for all my readers!

Reply
Lisa
1/22/2013 07:46:39 am

Thanks - will link up now!

Reply
1/22/2013 08:04:32 am

Love this idea! I have an old Atlas I can use!!

Reply
1/22/2013 09:06:42 pm

This is SO SWEET!! Very creative!! It turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing!! ;)

~Brenda @ChattingOverChocolate.blogspot.com

Reply
1/23/2013 10:40:08 am

This is such a nice project! Nice job.

Reply
1/24/2013 04:45:15 pm

What a really cute idea. I was living in different places when I had a few of my children this would be fun

Reply
1/25/2013 09:43:46 am

This is a great idea! Thanks for sharing it with us at Eco-Kids Tuesday!

Reply
1/26/2013 06:16:47 am

It’s a new Linky Party to create more buzz for your blog and connect with others! If you haven’t joined Creative Crafts Thursday yet, please share your projects at www.creativecraftsthursday.blogspot.com each and every week and check out what other creative divas are up to.

Reply

Thanks for sharing this on Eco Kids! I love it, and it was tied for most clicked. I'm featuring it today!

Reply
Lisa
1/29/2013 01:27:10 am

Awesome, thanks Becki!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.