Mr T has finally let me refashion some of his tired work shirts, which I am super excited about as I have been bugging him for ages to let me use some of the older ones to have a play with.

I saw this top on Pinterest and thought I could give it a go.
These are the steps I took to do it, but you can refer to the above tutorial for more help.


Picture
First I cut off the sleeves on both sides.

I then folded the edges over twice to the outside and pinned them.

The colour of the inside was pretty cool and vibrant so I left it like that.

I then sewed it down with a straight stitch.













I then cut off the collar.

The first time I did this I didn't go low enough, and had to re cut it below the back yoke of the shirt to make it sit better.













I then folded the front and back top parts over twice about 2cm to the front  and sewed it down with a straight stitch. 

This makes a tunnel to thread through cord/ribbon to make the shoulder straps.

Picture
I then cut the sleeve material in a spiral to get a really long continuous bit of material about 1.5cm wide.


















I folded it in half and over locked the rough edge to make a sturdy cord.
















I then cut the cord in half and used one half to thread through the front and back top tunnels.

I used the second half as a tie around my waist.


I really love wearing this top as it is really nice and loose to wear on hot days.

I actually have been wearing it inside out as the inside stitching is really neat and the colours of the inside are so much more vibrant.

But when I wear it the right way you can see the buttons and the inside parts are visible at the arm holes and neck as a sort of bias biding look.

Picture
Here is a photo with my lovely Nana and my new top on Christmas eve, which was a very hot day, so I loved having the coolness around my shoulders and loose fitting around my abdomen.

Threading My Way_Featured
1/2/2013 09:10:21 pm

Very clever refashion, Lisa! Perfect for our current hot Summer weather.

Reply
Lisa
1/3/2013 12:18:10 am

Thanks for your lovely comments Pam

Reply
1/4/2013 10:13:08 am

I pinned this on my Repurposed Clothes Board: http://pinterest.com/pin/48554502204494198/ I would love if you would share this with us at Eco Kids too: http://organicaspirations.blogspot.com/search/label/Eco%20Kids

Reply
Lisa
1/4/2013 01:20:23 pm

Sure thing Becki - I love the things you have done with snow on your blog!

Reply
1/7/2013 04:00:50 am

Thanks for linking up and for the kind words! I hope you'll join us again tomorrow.

1/7/2013 11:17:54 am

AND I'm featuring this tomorrow!

1/4/2013 07:39:18 pm

Hi Lisa, I've featured your refashion today...
http://threadingmyway.blogspot.com/2013/01/threading-your-way-features.html

Reply
Lisa
1/5/2013 01:07:05 am

Thanks so much - This is the first time I have been featured, Pretty exciting for a new blogger like me, you have made my day

Reply
1/5/2013 01:44:59 am

Wow, for being new to sewing you did an excellent job! I have been wanting to refashion some old blouses etc... but do not have the guts!!
I would love it if you considered follownig me.

Reply
Lisa
1/5/2013 02:24:23 am

Thanks Nina, I just decided not to be scared about wrecking clothes I hadn't worn for years. It's all a bit of trial and error for me. Your blog ideas are great. Will start following you today!

Reply
1/5/2013 04:00:16 pm

I love this. I love seeing other NZers getting out blogging and doing things creatively through recycling

Reply
Lisa
1/6/2013 03:05:59 am

Yay another kiwi! Your blog is great I love the cutlery hooks

Reply
1/7/2013 09:52:31 am

Well done! I LOVE repurposing old clothes into new. Thanks for sharing it with us at Eco-Kid Tuesday!

Reply
1/8/2013 06:27:12 pm

What an amazing transformation for the shirt! It looks great and I would never have guessed it had a prior identity.

Reply
1/10/2013 01:20:21 am

Great idea that I had to pin!

Reply
Lisa
1/10/2013 04:51:56 am

Thanks for all your lovely comments. I have managed to get another shirt to refashion now so will have to find something cool to do with it

Reply
6/2/2013 11:52:27 am

This looks great! I'm so glad I found your blog :)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.