Mouse wanted to have a special cake for Tigger's Cookie Monster 1st birthday. So we decided to make some Elmo inspired vanilla cupcakes to compliment the big chocolate Cookie Monster Cake. The Elmo cupcakes would also match Mouse's Elmo hood costume for the party.
Picture
My lovely brother and niece made the cupcakes for me using this recipe. We halved the recipe to make only 12 cupcakes as we had so much cake with the big cake as well!

We then iced the cupcakes with butter cream icing. Recipe here.
We tinted the icing slightly red with food colouring.
Then dipped the cupcakes into red sprinkles.

To make Elmo's cute features I used.
White chocolate melts for eyes with a little dark chocolate dabbed on to make the iris.
Sugared jubes for his nose.
Mini oreos for his mouth (I think big ones would work too).

These tasted amazing and Mouse was super happy to get his own cakes. Check out the b

2/3/2013 11:29:15 am

Cute cupcakes! I love Elmo. Those mini Oreos look yummy!

Reply
Lisa
2/3/2013 01:36:12 pm

Thanks I think Mouse ate mostly the icing and decorations even though the cakes themselves were yummy

Reply
2/3/2013 01:48:07 pm

Oh, wow! This looks delicious. I would love for you to come over to my blog hop and share this there!
http://countrifiedhicks.blogspot.com/2013/02/mondays-with-countrified-hicks-blog-hop.html

Reply
Lisa
2/4/2013 07:52:33 am

Sure thing Have linked up now

Reply
2/4/2013 03:21:49 am

Oh sooo cute! Hopping over from More The Merrier Hugs!

Reply
2/4/2013 08:46:37 am

Thank you for linking up and hope to see you next week. I now have a button for my blog hop. You can find it on the right hand side of my blog. So excited that you joined me!

Reply
2/4/2013 09:47:04 pm

How fun! These turned out great! Love the cookie monster cake, too!! Thanks for linking up at Show off Your Shell linky party #3!! :)

Reply

These turned out SO INCREDIBLY ADORABLE!! LOVE the cute cookie monster cake too :o) ... Thanks for sharing ;) Hope it was a super special day for your entire family! :)

Reply
2/6/2013 05:28:36 am

These are adorable!!

We are hosting a link party that goes live tonight. We would like to invite you to link up and share these with our readers.

Thanks!
The Busy Bee's,
Myrna and Joye.

thebusybhive.blogspot.com

Reply
Lisa
2/6/2013 07:49:20 am

Sure thing, will start following you guys and link up tonight

Reply
2/6/2013 10:40:37 am

These are SOOO adorable!! Thanks for linking up at my <a href="http://www.dianarambles.com/search/label/Pin%20Meme">Pin Me Linky Party</a>.

Reply
2/7/2013 03:50:45 pm

Fantastic job, I too have been struck by the sesame st bug, or rather my kid lets have. Sweet birthday

Reply
2/7/2013 07:51:05 pm

This is so cute! I love the use of sprinkles to may him all fuzzy! Looks awesome! Perfect with your big cookie monster cake!

Reply
Lisa
2/8/2013 01:14:20 am

Thanks Rebecca, I mainly used sprinkles as my piping of icing is so bad! But I also think it looks fuzzy too.

Reply
2/10/2013 08:16:40 am

Your cupcakes are so cute! Elmo used to be a regular at our house...miss that little guy!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your fun cupcakes!!! Hope you'll stop by often!!
Smiles!!
Jami
www.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.