Picture
Cookie Monster and Elmo Inspired Hoods
Tigger is turning ONE!! I can't believe my baby boy is toddling around and tearing the place up. 
For quite sometime one of the only things that would calm him down if he was upset was to listen to Cookie Monster sing "C is for Cookie". So we have decided to have a Happy Cookie Monster Birthday Party for Tigger. Of course we need dress ups so I came up with the idea to do furry Cookie monster and Elmo inspired hoods for Tigger and Mouse to wear to the party.

I had a look around the internet and have been inspired by the following web sites which have done animal hoods. Have a look if what I have done is not clear enough, 
Check out
www.fleecefarm.com
http://greeneggsnhamm.blogspot.co.nz
http://www.craftster.org

What you will need - for 1-3 year old boys

Paper to make pattern
30cm by 50cm approx - Lining material - I used old t-shirts 
30cm of 150m roll approx - Fake fur material what ever colour you like - I used red and blue
5cm by 5cm white material for eyes - I used some old fleece
3cm by 3cm black material for eyes - I used some scrap black cotton
Dome Snap clips set 
Hammer
Pins and scissors
Matching thread
Sewing Machine
Picture
1 - I traced around one side of an animal hood at play group to get the right size and shape of hood I wanted. But check out the fleecefarm web site for a different way of doing it.

I then cut it out to make a pattern.




2. I then used the pattern to cut out two sides of lining for inside the hood.

I used old t-shirts for the lining and just cut through two layers of t-shirt.




3. I used the same pattern to cut out the furry material. Be careful to make sure you have 2 sides of fur. It is probably easiest to fold over the material and cut through two layers.

Picture
4. To make the eyes fold over the white fabric and cut circles the size you want the eyes to be.










5. Then fold over the black fabric and make smaller circles to make the irises.










6. Pin the black onto the white where you would like them to be placed.

Picture
7. Sew the black circles onto the white circles using black thread. You can use zig zag or straight stitch going around the outside of the circle. You could also be very clever and do a proper Applique if you have time.





8. Pin the lining pieces together right sides together and Sew the pieces together from the forehead to the back of the neck. I used a zig zag stitch as it was t-shirt material.







9. Repeat with the furry materials, pinning furry sides together and tucking any extra fur inside while you are pinning. I Used a straight stitch for this.

Picture
10. Place the eyes where you would like them and pin on. Sew with white thread around the outside of the white part of the eye. You could use straight or zig zag stitch for this.






11. Pin the lining and furry pieces together right sides facing each other. Make sure all furry parts are tucked inside.






12. Sew from the back of the hood around all the seams but leave about 5-10cm at the end and backstitch.
You now need to turn the hood inside out so the furry part and right side of the lining are now on the outside.

You then can fold the last little bits in and finish off closing the hole with the machine - or hand sew it for a neater job.





Picture
13. Lastly use the dome snap closures on either side of the neck. Use a hammer to knock them into place or follow packet instructions.

You could use velcro but I thought it would get messy with all the fur!!





So there you have it!
My take on Elmo and Cookie Monster inspired hoods.
They are not exactly alike due to different length furs, and I think Elmo has a nose. But the boys love them and we are now set for the Monster Party.
Just need to sort Mr T and myself out now for some Monster madness.

12/10/2012 12:38:44 am

Love it! It really turned out great.

Reply
Lisa
12/10/2012 02:38:52 am

Thanks Amy - now we just have to wait til the party!

Reply
12/11/2012 12:19:48 pm

Adorable!

Reply
Lisa
12/11/2012 12:47:57 pm

Thanks Diana, they love wearing them too!

Reply
12/11/2012 08:09:19 pm

These are just adorable! I love cookie monster!

Reply
Lisa
12/12/2012 12:40:28 am

Same, totally have re fallen in love with Cookie monster along with the kids

Reply
1/2/2013 09:18:56 pm

Awesome! No wonder the kids love them.

Reply

Good content.Nice to very useful info for me.Because i'm new in blogging and i'm need good tutorial like your post.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.